top of page

So Much to Consider & Do

As an organization with the responsibility to assist with community preservation, the BRCHT has much to do.


National Register of Historic Places


To Do:


The National Register of Historic Places is the nation's official list of those cultural resources deemed worthy of preservation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register includes districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture. Although the National Register is a program of the National Park Service, it is administered at the state level by each respective state. In addition to the recognition that listing provides, registered properties are afforded a measure of protection from projects that are funded, licensed, or executed by the federal government. National Register properties may also be eligible for historic preservation tax incentives.


See a list of the National Register Properties in Ravalli County at the Montana State Historic Preservation Office webstie at

Certified Local Government


To Do:


Montana's Community Preservation program, also known as the Certified Local Government (CLG) program, is a time-tested means of preserving communities. The program is based upon an appreciation of the community's historic patterns, architectural styles, influential architects and builders, significant people and events, and historic and prehistoric archeology.


In partnership with the National Park Service under the National Historic Preservation Act, Montana SHPO certifies local governments with historic preservation programs, provide technical preservation assistance, and annually dedicate 10% of our federal funding to cities, towns, and counties that commit themselves to preserving their heritage under the program. Each receives $1,000 to $5,000, depending on their level of activity and the federal allocation, to spend in ways that best assist their community's local preservation needs.


Read more about the program at  



Historic Districts


The Bitterroot Valley has four National Register Historic Districts:

  • Hamilton Southside Residental Historic District,

  • HAmilton Commercial Historic District,

  • Rocky Mountain Laboratory Historic District, and

  • Stevensville Main Street.


For a list of all National Register signs in Ravalli County, go to and search for "National Register Ravalli".


It takes a community.



​Call us now to speak
to someone directly
406 360-7019


To Do:


Planning processes are where historics sites and properties are general supported for the future or begin their final decline.  All forms of planning schould include consideratoin o fhistoirc properties as well as the historic landscape and viewsheds. Transportation planning (roads, streets, and highways), subdivison planning, o general and 

bottom of page